LibGuides: Art History: Images / Videos

Images

Check out JSTOR Daily's Learning to Look, a visual literacy column written by Virginia Seymour, Head Librarian of Research and Instruction at Savannah College of Art and Design.

Artstor Digital Library
The Artstor Digital Library is an extensive and representative visual resource of images for teaching and research in the arts, humanities and social sciences. The Institutional Collection provides exclusive access to the rich AUArts Teaching Image Collection. NOTE: By summer 2023, all ArtStor collections, including the AUArts Teaching Image Collection will be available on JSTOR.
more...less...
Sign in for enhanced access and functionality.
https://www.auarts.ca/about-auarts/library/my-library-account

Some open source image collections, especially those developed by museums and galleries (including MOMA featured below), are available through Artstor or the museums and galleries themselves.

Google Arts & Culture
[Insert description]
Kress Collection Digital Archive
[Insert description]
Digital Bodleian
Over a million images of rare books, manuscripts and more from the Bodleian Libraries and Oxford college libraries.
Rijks Studio
Over 700,000 medium-high resolution images available for free downloading.
MoMA (Museum of Modern Art): The Collection
[Insert description]
The Public Domain Review Image Collection
Public domain, out-of-copyright material from the history of art, literature and ideas.
Resource of Outdoor Advertising Descriptions (ROAD)
Over 30,000 images of outdoor advertisements, including roadside billboards, posters and other outdoor advertising.
UbuWeb

Streaming video & DVDs

Kanopy

Our new subscription to Kanopy offers limitless access to independent and documentary films and documentaries, from the 1927 silent German expressionist science-fiction drama Metropolis (1927) to contemporary artist Ai Weiwei's latest documentary Coronation, documenting the Covid-19 lockdown in Wuhan last spring.

The Library's Media Collection has been developed to support curriculum. DVDs are bookable for specific dates and times and students may borrow them for overnight loans. Check out our streaming videos including a new, more flexible Kanopy subscription.

Films on Demand (FOD)

Online, streaming access to thousands of documentaries, educational films and news reels including Art 21.

Kanopy NEW!

National Film Board of Canada (NFB)

Access thousands of the National Film Board of Canada’s (NFB) documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. Instructors can access additional educator tools like creating/sharing playlists and chapters (contact library@auarts.ca for NFB Campus educator access).

AdViews
Access thousands of historical commercials created by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency during the 1950s -1980s.
British Pathé and Reuters
British Pathé and Reuters historical collection newsreel archive spanning thousands of items from the 20th century.
Internet Archive Moving Image Collection
Prelinger Archives
A collection of “ephemeral” films (sponsored by corporations and organizations, educational films, amateur and home moview) relevant to US cultural history and everyday life.
The Public Domain Review Film Collection
Public domain, out-of-copyright material from the history of art, literature and ideas.
Smarthistory: Art History on Khan Academy
Smart History is a leading resource for the study of art and cultural heritage. The growing collection of videos and essays are designed to be engaging and conversational and cover art that ranges from the Paleolithic to the present across Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania.