Carrington, Leonora. Snake Bite Floripondio. Oil on canvas, 1975. Perez Simin, JSTOR.
Bridget Riley. Painting with Verticals 1. oil on linen, 2006. JSTOR.
Art, Design and Architecture Collection
This art research database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
This art research database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
Artstor is now on JSTOR! The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring a range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use. Note: See My library account for details on registering and creating a personal account for full access to Artstor resources.
Database allows users to access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove® Art Online, the Benezit® Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies.
This database spans world history from the ancient world all the way up to recent current events, putting issues of interest in their historical context.
Fine Art America is the world's largest art marketplace and print-on-demand technology company. We've been helping artists sell wall art, home decor, apparel, and other products since 2006 and are home to hundreds of thousands of artists, photographers, graphic designers, illustrators, and iconic brands.
With just a few clicks, artists and photographers can upload their images to FineArtAmerica.com, set their prices for hundreds of different print-on-demand products, and then instantly sell those products to a global audience of online, mobile, and real-world buyers. Fine Art America fulfills each order on behalf of the artists - taking care of the printing, framing, matting, packaging, shipping, collecting payments from the buyers, and sending profits to the artists. Each product is manufactured at one of our 16 global production facilities and delivered "ready-to-hang" with a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Historical Painting Techniques, Materials, and Studio Practice
Bridging the fields of conservation, art history, and museum curating, this volume contains the principal papers from an international symposium titled "Historical Painting Techniques, Materials, and Studio Practice" at the University of Leiden in Amsterdam, Netherlands, from June 26 to 29, 1995. The symposium—designed for art historians, conservators, conservation scientists, and museum curators worldwide—was organized by the Department of Art History at the University of Leiden and the Art History Department of the Central Research Laboratory for Objects of Art and Science in Amsterdam.
Twenty-five contributors representing museums and conservation institutions throughout the world provide recent research on historical painting techniques, including wall painting and polychrome sculpture. Topics cover the latest art historical research and scientific analyses of original techniques and materials, as well as historical sources, such as medieval treatises and descriptions of painting techniques in historical literature. Chapters include the painting methods of Rembrandt and Vermeer, Dutch 17th-century landscape painting, wall paintings in English churches, Chinese paintings on paper and canvas, and Tibetan thangkas. Color plates and black-and-white photographs illustrate works from the Middle Ages to the 20th century.
Studio was first published in April 1893 under the title The Studio: An Illustrated Magazine of Fine and Applied Art. It rapidly established itself as one of the most successful fine art periodicals in the English-speaking world.
In 2000 Studio International was one of the first art magazines to embrace the internet – the online journal now enjoys a worldwide readership with more than 200,000 readers a month and over 4.5 million page views a year. Once again, as it did in the 1890s, by harnessing contemporary technology before most of its rivals, Studio (International) continues its role as one of the world’s leading art journals.
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European fine arts, decorative arts and architecture (3rd-19th centuries), currently containing over 52,800 reproductions. Artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, period music, catalogue, free postcard and mobile services are provided.
Note: For some of these resources, you may have to limit your searches to items in the public domain. Always read and review the terms and conditions on all websites and remember to cite your sources.
Creative Commons search portal - find music, images, videos, 3D models and more available under CC-licenses.
Good Resources for Finding Images of Diverse People - an excellent listing of sources for finding openly-licensed or royalty-free diverse images (stock photos, etc.) of people.
Project Gutenberg - free eBooks where the US copyright has expired.
Public Domain Review - focuses on works in the public domain: the vast commons of out-of-copyright material that everyone is free to enjoy, share, and build upon without restrictions.
Digital Public Library of America - contains material in the public domain and openly licensed content held by the United States' archives, libraries, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.
Wikimedia Commons - free-to-use images, sounds, and other media including video.
Library of Congress - free to use and reuse images including books, newspapers, manuscripts, prints and photos, maps, musical scores, films, sound recordings and more.
Flickr - this link will take you to the Creative Commons Flickr set where you can search for images under various CC-licenses.
Canadiana - provides open and free access to a large collection of full-text historical content about Canada, including books, magazines and government documents.
Europeana - "We share and promote Europe's digital cultural heritage to be used and enjoyed by everyone for learning, for work, or just for fun."
The Smithsonian Open Access collection - use and reuse millions of Smithsonian images.
The Auckland Museum - search for and utilize openly licensed images from our Natural Sciences, Documentary Heritage and Human History Collections.
The Rijksmuseum - explore the museums collection and then check out the Rijksstudio where you can explore over 700,000 works, available under a Creative Commons 1.0 Universal license, essentially copyright-free and royalty-free.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art Open Access Collection - explore the collection of images that are free to use and reuse as you wish.
The National Gallery of Art Open Access Images - another great resource to search for free-to-use images.
The Cleveland Museum of Art - Search by keyword. The results are already limited to those in the public domain.
The Art Institute of Chicago - as above: search via keyword as the results are already limited to those in the public domain.
Paris Musées - images from Paris museums. Search by keyword and relax! It's already set to bring back results in the public domain.
The New York Public Library's Public Domain Digital Collection - explore more than 180,000 items in this collection that are free to share, use, and reuse.
Old Book Illustrations - discover these old, and free-to-use, old book illustrations.
Open Art Images - search for free, high-resolution images.
Getty Museum's Open Collection - search for open content from the Getty Museum.
Unsplash: Photos for Everyone - use and reuse these images for free commercially or non-commercially.
British Library Flickr Collection - 1 million + images from 17th, 18th, and 19th century books held by the British Library.
Campus Library Digital Collection / Wetlands Collection - includes documents, images, and maps related to the history of the UWB/CCC campus and the University of Washington Bothell and Cascadia Community College. Includes Wetlands Collection with almost 1000 Creative Commons photographs.
World Images - primarily historical images organized into 18 categories, including Women, Science, Cities, Natural World, Science, and more.
Yale University Digital Commons - Yale's digital collections, including images from the Peabody Museum, Center for British Art, University Art Gallery, Library Map Collection, and Walpole Library Prints and Drawings.
LIFE Magazine Photo Archive - collection of images from LIFE magazine, accessible through Google Images. Images in this collection are approved for "personal, non-commercial" use.
Historic NASA images on Flickr - images of both space and space exploration, including from the Apollo and Space Shuttle missions.
National Park Service Multimedia Search - images from more than 400 locations managed by the National Park Service.
USA.gov Image Search - single search pulling together multiple sources of government photos.
Science and Environment Collections - a collection of government sources for science-based images, including the Department of Energy, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and the National Agricultural Library.
Open Clip Art Library - public domain contemporary graphics contributed by users.
Open Icon Library - an open collection of icons.
Wikimedia Commons - Crystal Clear Icons - icon collection from the Wikimedia Commons.
Wikimedia Icons - Tango Icons - icon collection from the Wikimedia Commons.
Pexels - royalty-free images and videos and free stock photos.
The Noun Project - free icons for all.
Wellcome Collections (UK) - find thousands of Creative Commons licensed images from historical library materials and museum objects to contemporary digital photographs and science images.
Free-Images.com - every image is Public Domain or CC0. Free to Download and Free to Use. High resolution images can be downloaded without setting up an account.