"Mrs. Lucy Innes, Calgary, Alberta.", 1924, (CU194985) by Unknown. Courtesy of Glenbow Library and Archives Collection, Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, University of Calgary.
Mrs Innes was an instructor of dressmaking and millinery at the Provincial Institute of Technology and Art (PITA), from which AUArts traces its origins . Founded in 1916, PITA was staffed with an instructor in fine and applied art and by the early 1920s, offered courses in general art, art education, design and handicraft.
Provincial Institute of Technology and Art, Dressmaking and Millinery class, Calgary, Alberta.", [ca. 1926-1927], (CU1227047) by Reeves and Young. Courtesy of Glenbow Library and Archives Collection, Libraries and Cultural Resources Digital Collections, University of Calgary.
Depending on the specific topic you are researching, the following databases offer reference and further research for contemporary craft, fibre arts and media specific art history.
This art research database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Full-text content related to fibre arts available from titles such as American Craft, Craft + Design Enquiry, and Fashion and Textiles.
This art research database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Full-text content related to fibre arts available from titles such as: Craft Research, Crafts, Fashion Theory: The Journal of Dress, Body & Culture, Textile history, Textile Museum Journal, Textile Fibre Forum, Textile: The Journal of Cloth and Culture.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences + Essentials collections have extensive coverage in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, including literature, film, art, music, religion, classical studies, history, education, economics, political science, and sociology. It also merged with ArtStor and now also offers a range of images from the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars and artists, including textile and historical fashion specific collections. Depending on subject, search results can now include both full text articles and related images.
While it doesn't have an extensive collection of fibre art related content, Library Stack fills a niche in born-digital materials in art, design, theory and architecture. Their collection includes artists' magazines, experiemental fonts, podcasts and project ephemera as well. Try browsing results for the keyword fashion for fibre art related titles.
Allows users to access—and simultaneously cross-search—art reference works: Grove® Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies. When in Grover Art Online, browse Media>Textiles and Embroidery for entries on textile specific subject reference and historically relevant figures.
